Hair Texturizers

I have fairly thin, flat hair, so it’s always been a struggle to make my hair look voluminous, especially for more than an hour. Lately, I’ve been on a quest to change that. It started when I realized I shouldn’t wash my hair every day and I began using dry shampoo, which helped with the volumization. Then I got some free Bumble and Bumble products, and I started using the dryspun finish thickening spray, which I became obsessed with. It’s great because it’s used on dry hair, and it’s so light but still holds so well. I definitely feel like I have more volume, even after I brush out my hair, and it’s not weighed down at all. I feel like it’s a million products in one – a volumizer, a texturizer, a dry shampoo, a hairspray. It’s amazing.

bb

The problem was that Bumble is a bit more pricey than the drugstore products I usually go for and I didn’t feel like splurging at the moment, so I went on a hunt for a dupe. Luckily, texturizing dry sprays are becoming more popular so I had a few to choose from.

In the end, I think the best drugstore dupe for Bumble is Garnier’s texture tease. It doesn’t quite have the same light, airy-ness that Bumble’s does, but it comes pretty close. I also tried the CVS brand, which was good.

garnier cvs

But the one I tried which did not do what I expected it to do at all was L’Oreal’s “high lift creation spray.” It says its intended for texture and lift at the roots, but it seemed more like a regular hairspray to me, and not a very good one either. It sprayed on very wet, I had little control over where it went, and it made my hair sticky. I was not impressed. Surprisingly, there are a lot of good reviews for it on the website, so I don’t know if it just doesn’t work well on my hair type.

Anyway, I will definitely be buying the Bumble dryspun finish again, but in the mean time, Garnier’s texture tease is a great substitution for about a quarter of the price.

textures

P.S. – If anyone is interested, I also plan on trying Redken’s Windblown 05, which seems similar to Bumble’s, but slightly cheaper, and has gotten good reviews.

Let me know if anyone has tried any good texturizing sprays!

Enjoy xx

Leave a comment